The Golden house of Venice
The Ca’ d’Oro – the Golden House – is without doubt one of the most beautiful and most famous buildings along the Canale Grande. The exterior of the magnificent Gothic palace with its arched windows and arcades was once covered with gold leaf and gave the house its name. Although the gold plating is now largely faded, the Ca’ d’Oro is still one of the highlights along the Grand Canal and a showcase of Gothic style in Venice. The house was built in 1440 and after several changes in ownership was acquired by Baron Giorgio Franchetti in 1894. Franchetti restored the old building completely. His art collection, the Galleria Franchetti, can still be admired in the palace.
Inside the Ca’ d’Oro you can get a good impression of the lifestyle of rich Venetian patrician families from the late Middle Ages. On display are numerous sculptures, tapestries, crafts and paintings from the 15th and 16th centuries. The most important paintings are the “Annunciation” and the “Death of the Virgin Mary” – two works by Vittorio Carpaccio. The remains of the frescoes on the facade of the Fondaco dei Tedeschi, which were once painted by Titian and Giorgione, are a further highlight.
Landing stage: Ca' d'Oro